Star Trek Guide

March Madness Star Trek Edition: The Battle for Starfleet Elite 8

March Madness Star Trek Edition rolls on into April, with the Elite Eight of Starfleet vying for a birth in the final four. Who will be left standing?

The tournament marches on as another eight characters were proverbially sent home by the fans. As we here at Redshirts Always Die seek to find out who among the Starfleet elite really is the top dog among fans.

So far Rom, Trip Tucker, Deanna Troi, Odo, Julian Bashir, Saru, Worf, Henry Kim, Montgomery Scott, Nyota Uhura, B’Elanna Torres, Nog, Tom Paris, Hoshi Sato, Paul Stamets, and Dr. Phlox went home in round one.

Round two saw Dax, Chakotay, Michael Burnham, Benjamin Sisko, Kathryn Janeway, Miles O’Brien, Kiera Nerys, and Bones McCoy join them. Of all the match-up’s, only O’Brien and Johnathan Archer, and Sisko and Seven of Nine’s match up’s were even close. Though no one won more handily than Mr. Spock.

Which is good, as Spock will need all the help he can get as he faces down Jean-Luc Picard in the Elite Eight. Seven of Nine, a bit of a Cinderella story, will face off with the other Cinderella story left in the tournament, T’Pol. Archer will have to contend with Data, who’s probably getting more sympathy votes than he truly deserves. Lastly is Will Riker, facing off against James T. Kirk.

The villain bracket’s Surly 16’s last day to vote is today, meaning April 2 will begin their Evil Eight round. So tune in Thursday for your opportunity to vote for that bracket as well.

The Elite Eight for Starfleet will be another four-day cycle, ending on Saturday, April 4th, with the Evil Eight for the villain’s bracket ending on Sunday, April 5th.