Star Trek Guide

REPORT: Star Trek: Discovery Losing Major Cast Members

With only two episodes to go in its second season, Star Trek: Discovery is about to lose two notable cast members as it prepares for Season 3.

As Deadline notes, Anson Mount and Rebecca Romijn are not expected to reprise their roles as Captain Christopher Pike and Number One, respectively. Both actors reportedly signed one-year contracts for the CBS All Access series to end with the second season.

RELATED: Star Trek Discovery Teaser Reveals New Design for Classic Alien Race

Additionally, Mount was revealed to be involved in an on-set altercation with a director this past August, making physical contact with the director while discussing a scene. Although CBS HR conducted a routine investigation, no disciplinary action was taken, and the incident apparently had nothing to do with Mount leaving the series. The production reportedly is interested in finding ways to work with him again.

The report suggests that the main reason these characters were featured in Discovery was to give the prequel series more solid connections to established Star Trek lore. The report did not state whether or not Ethan Peck would be returning in Season 3 as a younger version of Spock.

RELATED: Star Trek: Picard Spinoff Adds Discovery Director to Helm Pilot

Discovery was officially renewed for a third season by CBS All Access last month with series writer Michelle Paradise being promoted to co-showrunner alongside current executive producer and showrunner Alex Kurtzman.

Streaming on CBS All Access, Star Trek: Discovery Season 2 stars Sonequa Martin-Green as Commander Michael Burnham, Doug Jones as Commander Saru, Anthony Rapp as Lt. Commander Paul Stamets, Mary Wiseman as Ensign Sylvia Tilly, Shazad Latif as Ash Tyler, Wilson Crz as Dr. Hugh Culber, Anson Mount as Captain Christopher Pike, Mary Chieffo as L'Rell, Tig Notaro as Chief Engineer Reno, Ethan Peck as Spock, Rebecca Romijn as Number One and Michelle Yeoh as Philippa Georgiou. New episodes premiere Thursdays at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.