Star Trek Guide

STAR TREK: DISCOVERY Wins Big at 2019 Saturn Awards

The cast and crew of Star Trek: Discovery walked away with three big wins at Friday night’s 45th annual Saturn Awards presentation. The CBS All Access streaming series won in the categories for Best Streaming Science Fiction Show, Best Actress in a Streaming Presentation, and Best Supporting Actor.

Emanating from the Avalon Hollywood in Hollywood, Calif., the Saturn Awards are presented by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films and were streamed live on CONtv and Youtube.

Best Streaming Science Fiction Show

Star Trek: Discovery won for Best Streaming Science Fiction Show and was accepted by series star Doug Jones and executive producer Michelle Paradise. The series was up against some serious competition that Black Mirror, The Expanse, Good Omens, Jack Ryan, Lost in Space, Russian Doll.

Regarding the win, Paradise said:

Best Supporting Actor in a Streaming Presentation

Doug Jones, who plays the Kelpien Starfleet officer Saru, won for Best Supporting Actor in a Streaming Presentation. Jones, a genre mainstay
appeared genuinely touched by the award, saying:

Discovery writer Bo Yeon Kim was tweeting photos from the ceremony. One of which included Doug Jones holding his newly-won Saturn Award.

Jones’ competition in the category included his Discovery castmates Wilson Cruz and Ethan Peck, along with The Haunting of Hill House stars Michiel Huisman and Timothy Hutton, Lost in Space star Maxwell Jenkins and Good OmensMichael Sheen.

Best Actress in a Streaming Presentation

Finally, Discovery lead Sonequa Martin-Green won for Best Actress in a Streaming Presentation for her role as Michael Burnham in the series. While Martin-Greeen wasn’t able to appear at the ceremony in person, she did send a video with on the set of Discovery, thanking the academy, the series crew and the fans.

Her competition in the category included Carla Gugino from The Haunting of Hill House, Elizabeth Lail from You, Natasha Lyonne from Russian Doll, Molly Parker from Lost in Space, Krysten Ritter from Jessica Jones, and Kiernan Shipka from Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

In addition to the cast and crew of Discovery, Star Trek: The Original Series star George Takei was also in attendance.

You can watch the ceremony embedded below.

Watch the 2019 Saturn Awards

The third season of Star Trek: Discovery is scheduled to return to CBS All Access in the United States and Netflix internationally in 2020.

Stay tuned to for all the latest news on Star Trek: Discovery, Star Trek: Picard, Star Trek: Lower Decks and Star Trek: Short Treks. Connect with us at @TrekNewsNet on Twitter, @TrekNews on Facebook, and @TrekNews on Instagram.