Star Trek Guide

Patrick Stewart’s ‘Star Trek: Picard’ Gets Season 2 Renewal

Sir Patrick Stewart’s Star Trek: Picard has been renewed for a second season on CBS All Access.

25 years ago, Star Trek: The Next Generation concluded a seven-season run and seemingly marked the end of Patrick Stewart’s time portraying Captain Jean-Luc Picard. However, Patrick Stewart will now reprise his role as the former Captain of the starship USS Enterprise – NCC-1701-D in a new CBS All Access series titled Star Trek: Picard, which will follow the eponymous character in the next chapter of his life.

‘Star Trek: Picard’ Producer On How Show Differs From ‘The Next Generation’

Now, Deadline reports Star Trek: Picard has been renewed for a second season over a month before the Patrick Stewart series premieres on CBS All Access. As with the first season of the Patrick Stewart series, the sophomore year of Star Trek: Picard will consist of 10 episodes.

Over $20.4 million in California tax incentives has been granted to the second season of Star Trek: Picard, with Deadline sources saying production could begin as early as spring 2020. According the outlet, season 2 of Patrick Stewart’s Star Trek: Picard is “penciled in” for late 2020 or early 2021.

Noah Hawley To Direct ‘Star Trek 4’; Chris Pine Expected To Return

Are you excited to hear about the early renewal for Star Trek: Picard? Are you glad to see Patrick Stewart reprise his role as Picard? Let us know below!

Star Trek: Picard stars Patrick Stewart, Alison Pill, Michelle Hurd, Evan Evagora, Isa Briones, Santiago Cabrera, and Harry Treadaway. The series will be produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment. Alex Kurtzman, Michael Chabon, Akiva Goldsman, James Duff, Patrick Stewart, Heather Kadin, Rod Roddenberry, and Trevor Roth are on board as executive producers. Aaron Baiers (Secret Hideout) serves as a co-executive producer with Kirsten Beyer as a supervising producer.

Star Trek: Picard will premiere on CBS All Access on January 23, 2020.

Source: Deadline