Star Trek Guide

Star Trek: Discovery Season 4 Officially Begins Production

Star Trek: Discovery Season 4 Officially Begins Production

After Star Trek: Discovery secured an early renewal last month, co-showrunner Michelle Paradise took to Twitter to announce that production has officially begun on the upcoming fourth season of the hit sci-fi series. Star Trek: Discovery is currently airing its third season with episode 3.04 titled “Forget Me Not,” scheduled to premiere tomorrow on CBS All Access.

RELATED: Noah Hawley Gives Update on Star Trek Status, Teases New Details

Star Trek: Discovery is about the voyages of Starfleet on their missions to discover new worlds and new lifeforms, and one Starfleet officer who must learn that to truly understand all things alien, you must first understand yourself. In the end of the season one finale, it showed that Discovery has finally encountered the USS Enterprise.

After making the jump in the second season finale, Season 3 finds the U.S.S. Discovery crew dropping out of the wormhole and into an unknown future far from the home they once knew. Now living in a time filled with uncertainty, the U.S.S. Discovery crew, along with the help of some new friends, must together fight to regain a hopeful future.

The cast includes Sonequa Martin-Green as First Officer Michael Burnham, Michelle Yeoh as Captain Philippa Georgiou, Jason Isaacs as Captain Lorca, Doug Jones as science officer Saru, Anthony Rapp as fellow science officer Stamets, Terry Serpico as Starfleet admiral Anderson, Maulik Pancholy as chief medical officer Nambue, Sam Vartholomeos as junior Starfleet officer Connor, Mary Wiseman as Cadet Tilly, James Frain as Sarek, astrophysicist and father of Spock, Chris Obi as Klingon leader T’Kuvma, Mary Chieffo as L’Rell, a Klingon commander, Shazad Latif as Lieutenant Tyler, Rekha Sharma as Commander Landry, Kenneth Mitchell as Kol, Clare McConnell as Dennas, Damon Runyan as Ujilli, and Rainn Wilson as Harry Mudd.

Season 3 also featureS the sci-fi franchise’s first-ever non-binary and transgender characters in the form of newcomer Blu del Barrio and Ian Alexander (The OA).

RELATED: Paramount+ is CBS All Access’ New Name for Early 2021

Alex Kurtzman and Michelle Paradise serve as co-showrunners and executive produce with Heather Kadin, Jenny Lumet, Frank Siracusa, John Weber, Olatunde Osunsanmi, Rod Roddenberry, and Trevor Roth. The series is produced by CBS Studios in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment.

The first two seasons of Star Trek: Discovery are now available to stream on CBS All Access, along with new Season 3 episodes.